International Standards for Building Materials & Testing

International Standards for Building Materials & Testing

International Standards for Building Materials & Testing is very impotant for any civil engineer .The American Society for Testing and Materials for civil engineering specified some standards code like Eurocodes, IS Codes, BS Codes, etc. These codes describe details and standard method of testing procedure and methods for concrete, masonry, aggregates, steel, soil and other building materials.

International Standards for Building Materials & Testing standard codes are important documents, continually revised to address changing requirements and new technologies. Normally, these codes are revised after certain years as part of a process of continual improvement. For example, the American Concrete Institute Code is being revised every three years.

This post represents most common and widely used codes used for testing of construction materials and result analysis.

Following are the Standards and Codes which are widely used in the allover world for building construction and other works.

  1. ASTM International
  1. Canadian Standard Association (CSA)
  1. European Standard (EN Eurocodes)
  1. British Standards (BS)
  2. Indian Standards (IS)

1. American Society for Testing and Materials:

This institute has the largest collection of international standards in the world for materials, goods, services, and systems. This institute also publishes documents on sampling and testing methods for health, safety and performance aspects of materials, effects of physical and biological agents and chemicals, and safety guidelines.

Following data gives a list of standards for testing various construction materials.

American Society for Testing and Materials has following code for material and testing.

1. Soil :-
ASTM D4318, ASTM C136, ASTM D5268, ASTM D6913, ASTM D2974, ASTM D422, ASTM D2434, ASTM D1140, ASTM D7263, ASTM D5918, ASTM D698, ASTM D854, and ASTM D1557, ASTM D2216

2. Aggregate and Rock:-
ASTM C295, ASTM C127, ASTM D5312, ASTM C128, ASTM D5313, ASTM C29, ASTM D4992, ASTM D5821, ASTM D4791, ASTM D3967, ASTM C131, ASTM D7012, and ASTM C535ASTM C88

3. Concrete and Masonry:-
ASTM C617, ASTM C1231, ASTM C39, ASTM C78

4. Asphalt:-
ASTM D6926, ASTM D2726, ASTM D6307, ASTM D5444, and ASTM D2041

2. Canadian Standard Association (CSA)

The Canadian Standard Association is a standard organization which develops standards in Canada. It publishes standards in hard print and electronic form and provides training and advisory services.

The material used Building construction and other structures in Canada is must follow the requirements of the CSA standards. Following data provides selected standards used for testing different construction materials.

Some important CSA Standards for testing construction materials

1. Cement:-
CSA A3002, CSA A3003, CSA A3004, and CSA A3005, CSA A3001,

2. Concrete:-
CSA A23.2, CSA A23.4, and CSA S806, CSA A23.1

3. Masonry
CSA A165.2, CSA A165.3, CSA A179, CSA A370, and CSA A371, CSA A165.1

3. EN Standard (Eurocodes)

Eurocodes are standards code part of the comprehensive system of European standards relating to construction. They are used for the determination of material and product properties required for the design of buildings and other civil engineering structures with the EN Eurocodes.

The codes and standards given in Eurocodes include testing for materials like cement, masonry, timber and metallic materials, non-destructive test methods as well as fire tests. British Standards EN is abbreviation for official English version of European standards

Download EU Code

The European Standards for testing different construction materials

1. concrete:-
BS EN 12390-5:2000, BS EN 12390-6:2000, BS EN 1170-4:1998, BS EN 12390-4:2000,

2. masonry:-
BS EN 846-5:2000, BS EN 846-6:2000, BS EN 1052-1:1999

3. timber:-
EN 594, EN 1075, EN 1380

4. metallic materials:-
BS EN 10002-1:2001

5. Plywood:-
BS EN 1072:1995

6. Stone:-
BS EN 14617-15:2005, BS EN 14580, BS EN 14617-2:2004, BS EN 12372:1999

7. Aggregate:- BS 812-2:1995

4. British Standards (BS)

BS publications, which are produced by the British Standard Institute, are technical specifications that give recommendations on a wide range of building and construction matters including materials, testing, health and safety, access and regulations and many more.

They are an important reference for architects, developers, building owners, site managers, building contractors, structural engineers, and materials specifiers.

Following list provide a selected list of British Standards for testing construction materials.

1. Concrete:- BS 1881-119:1983, BS 1881-121:1983, BS 1881-127:1990

2. Resin and polymer/cement compositions:- BS 6319-10:1987, BS 6319-11:1993, BS 6319-2:1983, BS 6319-3:1990, BS 6319-6:1984, BS 6319-7:198,

3. Mortar:- BS EN 1015-11:1999, BS EN 1015-12:2000,

5. Indian Standards (IS)

IS Code has a huge number of documents published by Bureau of Indian Standard (BIS) and involves almost all aspects of civil engineering.

The British Indian Standard has developed a set of guidelines in order to guarantee the quality standards of the deferent types of construction materials. These are classified into different categories namely; Building Materials including Paints and Civil Engineering Design and Construction.

These standards provide guidelines for testing cement, concrete, concrete admixtures, additives, soil, rock, steel, and aluminum.

Following are the Indian Standards for testing construction materials

1. Cement:- IS 650 – 1991, IS 14032 – 1988,

2. Coarse / Fine AggregateIS 2386 (Part I To VIII) 1963

3. Bricks:- IS 3495 (Parts I TO iv) 1976

4. Soil:- IS: 2720 (Part. XIII) 1986, IS:2720 (Part.30) 1980

Free Download EU Code

Free Download IS Code

Leave a Reply